Break me with the soft blinding streaks of your words

Break me with the soft blinding streaks of your words

The ill-chosen bursts breaking the calculating filtering

Of distances meant to block in cold concrete

The lapses bridging two masked souls

So that their make-up and get-up will not be ripped apart

In the nakedness of moving, shifting pixels.

But such is happiness:

Claws of laughter found in vultures gnashing the memories of its prey

So laugh a little will you?

Settle down with the silence unmasking

The part of my being I let go

When we hid together in spaces people know but dare not speak of.

Throw in a question, maintain the illusion,

Confess your denial by denying your confession

And bury in the corner your eyes look into

When you look away from me

When I ask you why

In the space where vultures thrive in the pixels of each other’s memory

You chose to break me with the soft blinding streaks of your words.


For this prompt.

2 thoughts on “Break me with the soft blinding streaks of your words

Leave a Reply

