The Uncomfortable Zone

It is the space beyond my skin

Where all things foreign are scratched

Engraving marks itching to be healed

With the oil of thoughts comforting

It is the space beyond my nose

Where all scents invade me

Filling my lungs of smoke and acid

Waiting to be choked and coughed in revolt.

It is the space beyond my ears

Where all whispers scream

Cracking my mind with malice

Begging to be shared in disgust

It is the space beyond my tongue

Where all debased tastes swim

Bubbling, foaming in bitter garbage

Gurgling to be spat in a moldy flood

It is the space beyond my eyes

Of dances perverted yet mundane

Taking itself in psychedelic sunlight

Shining to be shut out in consoling darkness

It is the space just beyond my mind

Of wisdom cracked by thoughts in terror

Turning itself into a temple of torture

To lock my joints in thin strings of steel.


For this ebook prompt:

You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?

The spirit of the horrible twist has returned. I do want to learn so many skills and try many ways of learning them. But because I am not itching to learn them this time…

Leave a Reply

