Screaming in Unheard Tongues

Once upon a forgotten day

      I woke up with a garbled voice

I knew what I wanted to say:

“Isn’t it a good day?”

But my family and I asked with our eyes

And our eyes the words that sprang

Out of my mouth

            hard marbles they are,

            cracking against their glass skins

Their voices when they spoke of surprise

            Was as familiar

            As the first memory I had

            Faded into an impression of senses.

I tried so swallow all of them back

But they choke me into tears

As my future chokes my prospects away.

      What about the presentation?

       What about the promotion?

I tried to make sense of the cracking toys

that made up my voice

                  —ruined robots and raspy squeakers.

But all my thoughts are locked up in a scream

Begging to be lulled to comfort

                        By the wife whom I called mother.


For this prompt:

If you could wake up tomorrow and be fluent in any language you don’t currently speak, which would it be? Why? What’s the first thing you do with your new linguistic skills?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TONGUE.

If I could learn a language instantly, I would like to learn the following:

  1. Russian-To read Tolstoi and Chekhof and Dostoyevsky in their original
  2. Greek- To read the classics
  3. Italian- To read Italo Calvino
  4. French- To read Montaigne and other French Intellectuals
  5. Japanese- To watch anime

But then, I don’t plan to settle with this response alone.

2 thoughts on “Screaming in Unheard Tongues

  1. I do think that I can still choose to be optimistic, even if others around me aren’t, but anyway…

    I’d like to learn Japanese, but not just to watch anime and stuff like that. I’d also like to understand more about Japanese culture…especially their artworks…

Leave a Reply

