The kindest thing undone

A question is all it takes

For you to give what was never asked

Not the jokes, not the memories,

Not a bit of the books and television series

Not the words that break

the distance between our generic hi’s and smiles.

A mystery it is,

The question unasked

Repeatedly as you fill sometimes

the empty seats beside me.

No one answers it really

Because of the repetition, the routine

of the emptiness gone around me

that which your stories could give warmth

against the January chills

becomes the answer

to the question you never asked

But your every question I refuse to answer

Fine here, a laugh there,

A moment of silence you fill or avoid

And all the repetition and routine

Of unemptied spaces

Become void around me

As my empty gaze throw back your question

To be unasked to somebody else.

To me the kindest thing to leave your question unanswered

To me the kindest thing to leave your routine undone

To me the kindest thing to leave your interest untampered

To leave you the kindest thing I have done

_________________________________________

For this prompt:

Tell us about the nicest thing you’ve ever done.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us KINDNESS.

Yes, it is getting worse.

3 thoughts on “The kindest thing undone

  1. I really like how you wrote this in poetry form. It’s quite eloquent, while stating your point. Awesome! 🙂 I don’t necessarily say I agree with your point, because I like to write and share my stories, but hey! Everyone is entitled to their own point of view. The way you shared yours was great!

Leave a Reply

