8: The Brainwash box

Dip your head, dip your brain

For the daily wash-away

Guaranteed to forget….

Guaranteed to feel good.

 

Click.

Laugh.

Feel Good.

 

Click.

Buy.

Feel Good.

 

Click.

Cry.

Feel Good.

 

Click.

Buy.

Feel Good.

 

Click.

Laugh.

Feel Good.

 

Click.

Buy.

Feel Good.

 

Click.

Cheer.

Feel Good.

 

Click.

Sleep.

Feel Good.

 

Click.

Buy.

Feel Good.

 

Click.

Shock.

Feel Good.

 

Click.

Buy.

Feel Good.

 

Click.

Eat.

Feel Good.

 

Work.

Feel bad.

 

Click.

Buy.

Feel Good.

 

Look around.

Feel bad.

 

Click.

Buy.

Feel Good.

 

Click.

Forget.

Feel Good.

 

Dip your head, dip your brain

For the daily wash-away.

Guaranteed to forget.

Guaranteed to feel good.


I don’t miss the television. And the Internet is not a brainwash box for those who know how to use it.

My head is in the same state as it was exactly twelve years ago, only with a different thesis beside me. It feels awful, and I’m afraid no one will recognize or understand what I feel.

Anyhow, the poem was for this post:

1984

You’re locked in a room with your greatest fear. Describe what’s in the room.

Since I know what is being referred to in this prompt, I had to ask myself: what is the object that will signify my greatest fears? I do not mind dying; I had simulated letting go in my mind, nor would it be a harassment of the entirety of my soul.  Solitude is also something I sought for rather than ran away from.

After a moment of speculation, I deduced that I could not imagine losing myself to conformity, to social pressures. And if it were an object, I would crumble apart with a television in front of me. It could also be in the middle of a crowd of people who hate me for fun, but an object seems more appropriate, and safer given my current condition.

I know I am already late and I know I am currently unable to participate in Daily Prompts. Nevertheless, I will swim to the surface of my demise and breathe. I will, I just have to have faith.

One thought on “8: The Brainwash box

  1. To be honest, I’d rather watch YouTube videos than watch television shows, because most of the shows on TV don’t connect with my heart and/or bore me.

    One day, I hope to pretty much improve what’s being shown on television. I’d like to add more soul-uplifting stuff and wholesome boredom killers there, but if the executives won’t let me, then I’ll find another way to reach the people. I do hope that the television industry would improve, still. I don’t like artists who work for money and fame ONLY. I like artists who do it for the art, who do it to make the world a better place to live in!

Leave a Reply

