The sea whispers to me sweet

The sea whispers to me sweet

the songs that sleep down deep,

like fuel to ground so fertile it creeps,

To strike aflame the life it rips.

The sea whispers to me sweet,

the songs my ears shall never meet,

the dances the clouds, the skies hold dear,

Together strike stacccato steps of fear.

 

It whispers to me sweet, it kisses me sweet:

It taunts my feet to dip down deep.

It taunts my lips to bite its might,

It taunts my heart to let go tonight.

 

It whispers to me sweet, it kisses me sweet:

It devours my legs, the prints it left,

It devours my chest, the breath it gave,

It devours my throat, the song it sang.

 

The sea I now whisper to you sweet,

the songs its sings to bury you deep,

like whip to child so young it creeps,

To strike away the thoughts asleep.

The sea I now whisper to you sweet,

the songs your fears today shall meet,

the praises the skies, the earth hold dear,

Hold me not; it is here!


I long wanted to write something inspired by the legacies of Poe and Lovecraft. So when I got up early in our trip to Daet, I seized the opportunity to watch the skies light up the morning shores and listen to the whispers the sea endlessly sings. As such, I gave birth to this.

Leave a Reply

