In vessels, crashing waves of ink

I. Looking down

In vessels that drip the blood of hope,

            Of truth and progress in all its scope.

I ride to conquer the mighty page,

            Its forsaken treasures a war we wage:

            A war for courage or to ravage?

In vessels that brush the fevered night

            Of hatred and chaos miles in sight,

I ride to bear the fiery banner,

            To light up the foreboding summer,

            With wisdom so thin: a gossamer.

In vessels that stroke the maddened day,

            To shape and mold with what we pray.

I ride–oh, so weak–to brevity,

            To face the fire with clarity,

            To declare the gods’ insanity.

 

II. Looking around

In vessels that drip the blood of hope,

            Of stories we live in all its scope,

We ride to conquer the mighty page,

            To shatter open our endless cage,

            To give truth and progress for all age.

In vessels that brush the fevered night

            Of God’s guidance in the stars so bright.

We ride to share in wine and dinner.

            To celebrate wisdom as winner,

            In our soul’s struggle we know another.

In vessels that stroke the maddened day,

            To shape and mold with what we say.

We write–oh so strong– to make you think,

            So never fear the truth to sink,

            When reading the crashing waves of ink.


This was the entry I wrote for a regional writing competition where I just came from. I really liked how the way the last lines went. But I guess my awful cursive handwriting (which was required) pissed them off.  So in the end, four students in our school get to participate in the Luzonwide competition, in a place I don’t feel like travelling to. I didn’t win anything, which is a good thing really. I don’t have to miss more classes; I don’t have to lose more tests.  And I don’t have to go to any of those horrible seminar-workshops.

Also, I nearly broke my sanity. The details I’d reserve for another poem describing the experience.

Leave a Reply

