3: Spoiled brat

He lives happy on the top of the ivory tower

With his eight-digit salary and five-star penthouse

Drinking his daily wine served by his butler

Labelled the hell he cares not, as long as it’s expensive.

He sits on his leather recliner, and indulges in his communion

Of Tiger Wood’s golf scores and stock market numbers

Glittering like the saliva he sputters on his special edition smartphone

Like the numbers flowing through and fro on its speakers.

His wife is fed and clad and dressed in designer stuff,

Like his four other mistresses who open their legs to handle his gold.

Their sons and daughters don’t register to him at all,

As long as they are paid to keep him out of his sight.

 

It is progress, progress, the way he regresses,

Back to the child his parents addresses,

“I want this, I want that, I want this, I want that,”

“So here you go you stupid brat.”

“Take all our pension, take all that crap,

While we leave you in our eternal nap.”

 

He always takes for granted, the way he is deluded,

Walking like the king of kings, only of those narrowminded.

In his glorious self-interest, he brought himself the best,

Placed the companies and countries he touches to the test,

Currently unaware of the growing unrest,

Or that sniper bullet hitting him through the chest.


When the Daily Prompt decided to challenge all my beautiful plans of triumphing in the pingback list and shared this:

When you look back at your blog on January 2, 2015, what would you like to see?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us PROGRESS.

I just want to roll in the mud, throw in a fit, and bark in a snarky bit of wit like this:

I hate the idea of progress. It’s overrated.

That is from Arthur Dent, from his wholly remarkable adventures with The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, with all due condolences to its author, Douglas Adams, who is now enjoying a perpetual meal in Milliways, the Restaurant at the End of Time. It came forth as one of Arthur’s defenses as the bulldozers prepared to sweep through his home in the country village of proddy Cottington.

Yes, I feel like Arthur Dent as he is utterly violated by the bureaucracy of Britain and the universe. How dare the prompts violate my routine, from which all of my routine content will originate? But then again, along with the destruction of everything I so long for now comes a series of unimaginable adventures, immortalized through a future set of horrible poems, horrible character sketches, and horrible fiction pieces.

So the question is, do I do the ebook prompts, or do I do the WordPress daily prompts?

Well, why not do both? It’s a good change after all. At least I get to choose progress over that awful January 3 prompt that goes like this:

What’s the 11th item on your bucket list?

Yes, a bloody bucket. A horrible fancy tradition that in my mind I now filled with the eleventh New Year dinner my overfed stomach failed to digest, which is a fiction as much as this list. A putrid bucket I so want to kick over the faces of these awful set of circumstances that I currently face.

I guess it’s off to waiting for the WordPress prompts to appear. I’m quite certain (or quite hoping) that the bucket list I so want to kick will appear later on, but when I’m not sure. So there you have it, my replacement for the January 3 prompt in the wholly remarkable ebook WordPress released.

Stay tuned for more fits.

Today’s featured image citation comes from this link.

5 thoughts on “3: Spoiled brat

  1. Ah, the dangers of selfishness. A life of selfishness never ends well, alright. From selfishness comes more discontent and selfishness, and the cycle will only break unless they choose to do so. We can try to influence them to become better people, but if they don’t accept the influence, then we should just leave them alone…but still influence them in a respectful and friendly way. 🙂

    • Can you even influence a douchebag in an ivory tower? hehe. I have my share of these assholes in my childhood. No influencing you can do there unless you can completely break their parent’s parenting methods.

      • Welp-de-shot, I can’t actually control them, and even if I try to influence them, the choice to change is still up to them. As for me, I am the only one in control of my choices. Well, if you don’t agree with me, then I’ll leave you to your views, because your opinions are your opinions, and I can’t control that. Still, I hope that you have a nice day, because I believe that the choice to do so is always yours, you know! 🙂

      • An exchange of opinions is still good, even if you can’t influence the other person. Yes, I don’t agree with you, not because I don’t believe in the faith of helping others to change their ways. If you can change their ways, why not? But it is only that I don’t believe you because it is not so easy to relay a frank message to someone who holds a gang of assholes in their league ready to punch you for anything you say against them, or to set up an advice for parents who in their deathbeds regret the way they reared their young. It’s a whole culture of douchebaggery, really, a culture that is only partly ended when that person part of the unrest chose to shot the spoiled brat in the chest. If he was aware of what he was doing he could have been aware of the unrest.

        Anyhow, as you’ve said, what’s my opinion is mine; what’s your opinion is yours. Good day, and thanks for commenting! 😀

  2. Hm, I do appreciate the honesty! I would like some more respect, since I think respectfulness would help people listen more, but I don’t think we should waste more time discussing about that, since how you deal with things is your choice.

    Also, you’re welcome! 🙂 Expect some more comments and sharing from me in the future!

    See you again!

    *rockets away *

Leave a Reply

