1: To be with me is all I want to be

 

To be with me is all I want to be:

When the calendars change,

Nothing feels strange.

 

To be with me is all I want to be:

With a dozen bottles of whisky

And a fridge forever empty.

 

To be with me is all I want to be:

With a phone today ringing

No one ever answering.

 

To be with me is all I want to be:

With the ashes of photos blown,

Crumpled address books thrown.

 

To be with me is all I want to be:

For when they turn strange,

Nothing around me will ever change.


For This Prompt:

Where were you last night when 2013 turned into 2014? Is that where you’d wanted to be?

Yes, I wanted to be alone that new year. But I did not have the money nor the luxury to do so.

One thought on “1: To be with me is all I want to be

Leave a Reply

