On my birthday I dived from a high place

I do not know how this poem relates to this prompt, but this is what came to mind.

 

When faced with a party

On a midnight eve

I looked over the window ledge

And see the sunrise

Over the concrete wall

And the silent sea

A disco ball as eternal as death

Scorching my face

neither with statuses

nor smiling faces begging to be liked

But with life that glistens amid

The surface of life’s cradle

The music fills my bones

Breaks my ears

neither with the pride of promiscuity

nor carpe diem in a bottle

But with the whisper

That hugs

crashes

caresses

the untamable curves of me

No greetings

No gadgets

No makeup

No gossip

Only

the

openness

To

take

me in

And bring me back again

3 thoughts on “On my birthday I dived from a high place

Leave a Reply

